Top 5 Intermediate Level Cyber Security Certifications

Top 5 Intermediate Level Cyber Security Certifications

Cybersecurity is a fascinating field. It is expanding and growing daily. The security side of information technology has many career opportunities. There are many paths that exist leading to a career in cybersecurity. You could study at a college or university, you could self-teach yourself, you could transition from another area of IT into cybersecurity, or you could transition from a non-tech related field. The Cyber Job Mentor has identified five certifications for intermediate level professionals with experience. These certs are recommended for those looking for advancement or a new set of skills for a new career path.

CompTIA Cybersecurity Analyst (CySA+)

The CompTIA Cybersecurity Analyst (CySA+) certification exam validates skills in threat management, security architecture and tool sets, vulnerability management, and cyber-incident response. CompTIA suggest network+, security+, or equivalent knowledge with at least 4 years of experience. As an intermediate level exam there is an expectation that you would have experience and knowledge. This is only a suggestion and not a requirement. This should not be your first certification. The current exam cost is $349.00. You can learn more here

CompTIA PenTest+

The CompTIA PenTest+ certification validates skills in penetration testing. The topics covered are planning and scoping, penetration testing tools, attacks and exploits, and reporting. The CompTIA PenTest+ certification verifies that effective candidates have the knowledge and skills required to plan and scope an assessment, understand legal and compliance requirements, perform vulnerability scanning and penetration testing, analyze data, and effectively report and communicate results. This is not an entry level exam. The recommended requirements for the exam are Network+, Security+ or equivalent knowledge. Minimum of 3-4 years of hands-on information security or similar experience. While there is no required prerequisite, PenTest+ is intended to follow CompTIA Security+ or equivalent experience and has a technical, hands-on focus. The exam cost is $349.00. You can learn more here

GIAC Certified Incident Handle (GCIH)

GIAC Certified Incident Handler validates understanding of incident handling process, detection of malware or other malicious activity, and detection and analysis of vulnerabilities. This exam is provided by GIAC. Global Information Assurance Certification is an information security certification entity that specializes in technical and practical certification. Incident handlers manage security incidents by understanding common attack techniques, vectors and tools as well as defending against and/or responding to such attacks when they occur and others involved with handling cyber incidents. There are no prerequisites for the exam though GIAC recommends training provided by their affiliates. The cost of the exam is $1999.00. To learn more about this certification please visit the GIAC website here

GIAC Continuous Monitoring Certification (GMON)

GIAC Continuous Monitoring Certification (GMON) is presented by GIAC. The Global Information Assurance Certification is an information security certification entity that specializes in technical and practical certification. The GIAC Continuous Monitoring (GMON) certification validates a professional’s ability to deter intrusions and quickly detect anomalies. GMON certification holders have demonstrated knowledge of defensible security architecture, network security monitoring, continuous diagnostics and mitigation, and continuous security monitoring. This exam is meant for SOC analysts, engineers, and others whose responsibility is monitoring network security. The exam cost is 1999.00. To learn more visit

EC-Council Computer Hacking Forensic Investigator Certification (CHFI)

The certification exam focuses on computer forensics. This includes recovering data, investigating crimes, and analyzing data. Some of the topics covered by the exam are computer forensics investigation process, network forensics, investigating email crimes, and the tools or applications necessary to accomplish those tasks. The cost of the exam is $700.00 which includes a $100.00 application for those that have not taken approved training class. The experience requirement is 2 years. This exam is presented by the International Council of E-Commerce Consultants, also known as EC-Council. You can learn more here

Studying for certifications can be an excellent method of professional development. Choose professional development activities that work best for your situation. Look for opportunities that align with your goals and align with your learning style. There are other certifications out there, this is not a comprehensive list and they may not work for all people. Find what works for you.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s